General project direction, some suggestions

View previous topic View next topic Go down

General project direction, some suggestions

Post  gpp on Fri Mar 08, 2013 2:24 pm

First of all, let me congratulate you on your app, editor and site - it's great to see a customizable controller for android (and with OSC transport instead of flimsy midi-over-rtp).

I have a couple of questions:

• I'd like to know if it's possible to donate to support the project. I'm a developer myself, so I can tell you've done a bit of work on this, and 100 downloads at 1.5 each doesn't really cover it.

• Why the custom text format for the layout files? I think JSON would be a great fit for this kind of thing - it's very human readable and it would make the format easier to parse both by the app and by any external programs. It would also constraint the language (which is a good thing in this case, IMHO)

• Have you considered open-sourcing? It would attract developers willing to contribute - I certainly would like to. Of course, there's some risk involved with open sourcing a paid app, which leads me to...

• What about a web-based SaaS layout editor? It's much more convenient: cross platform, doesn't need installing, users could easily share layouts, etc. Also, you could charge, say, 0.1$ for each layout edit/download, or something like that.

• If you're not interested on SaaS, I still think it'd be great to have some place to share layouts freely (and other info too). A section in the forum could work, but it's probably not the best option; have you thought about installing a wiki?

gpp

Back to top Go down

Re: General project direction, some suggestions

Post  gpp on Fri Mar 08, 2013 2:30 pm

Oh, and if you're not interested in open sourcing but still would like some help (app, wiki, web editor, whatever), let me know if you're interested in partnering up

gpp

Back to top Go down

Post  gpp on Fri Mar 08, 2013 5:10 pm

aand, maybe a proper bugtracker and place for feature requests?